top of page

Progress is Sweet

I've been productive indeed. This also means I'm tired, so this will be a short post. If it fails to entertain you, g̶e̶t̶ ̶o̶v̶e̶r̶ ̶i̶t̶ I apologize.

Unrelated to the tipi, one of our goats here on the Farm went and had kids! Three of them, actually. I'd love to share pictures of them with you, however another member of our farm had control of my phone while I was helping deliver the second baby and therefore covered in uterine goo, and their pictures all came out blurry. I promise on all my uterine goo, I will get pictures of the babies as soon as I can.

First thing, I've finished the poles and I'm not going to lie - My poles bring all the boys to the yard. Several days ago, I had a rather vivid dream of entering into my tipi, and standing against the warm, yellow glow of the sun lit canvas were these rich, orangey-red poles. I guess dreams do come true.

The next chore on my agenda was to waterproof the tipi's canvas parts, starting with the biggest part; the cover. Initially, the white, reflective surface of the canvas tortured my eyes with it's assault of brilliant, heavenly shine onto my retinas. I cried, but only a little. Of course, this was remedied with the use of some broad brushes, a willing captive capable of using said brush (thanks a million, sir!), and my well-practiced Bob Ross brushing technique. The three made a rather victorious combination-

and the canvas was treated. Mind you, the yellowed areas are where the sealant was still wet, but it will all even out, giving the canvas a nice, gently tea-stained appearance. If you know me, you'll know of my love of tea. It's pretty much my spirit animal.

Given the above information, that means all's that's left is to paint some whales on the cover, put sealant on the door and inner liner, then get gravel to cover the ground. That's it. That's it. GUYS, I'M ALMOST DONE! I'M GOING TO DIE!

The closer I get to the end, the more excited I feel. I also feel like there's this fissure splitting reality from fantasy. Standing inside the finished tipi will feel surreal, as though I had walked back into that dream I had some days ago. It's been a beautiful summer, and I'm so excited to see what comes of this.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page